Home Artist Weyes Blood ‘Seeks Freedom’ on New Album And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow

Weyes Blood ‘Seeks Freedom’ on New Album And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow

0
Weyes Blood ‘Seeks Freedom’ on New Album And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow


Weyes Blood is slated to release And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow on Nov. 18 through Sub Pop. Today, the California-born singer-songwriter has shared its opening track, in which she describes a “Buddhist anthem,” “It’s Not Just Me, It’s Everybody.”

 

 

The forthcoming 10-track record, written entirely by Weyes Blood’s Natalie Mering, follows’ her 2019 Titanic Rising. It was also produced by Mering with help from Jonathan Rado and Rodaidh McDonald. According to the press release, the album is about “being in the thick of it: a search for an escape hatch to liberate us from algorithms and ideological chaos.” And it is, of course, available for pre-order.

Weyes Blood shared a statement about the making of and inspirations behind And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow:

 

Weyes Blood

 

“We’re in a fully functional shit show,” Mering says in a statement. “My heart is a glow stick that’s been cracked, lighting up my chest in an explosion of earnestness.”

Weyes Blood has also just announced the dates for her headlining international tour that will kick off in January 2023. The “In Holy Flux Tour” will begin in the UK and EU, preceding her trek to North America that will run until April. Tickets of on sale at 10 am local on Friday, Sept. 16 via her website.

To catch Weyes Blood this year, she will be headlining a two-night stint on December 8 (which is already sold-out) and 9 at The Theatre at Ace Hotel in Los Angeles. Tickets for the Dec. 9 show go on sale at 10 am on Friday, Sept. 16.

 

And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow Track List

1. It’s Not Just Me, It’s Everybody
2. Children of the Empire
3. Grapevine
4. God Turn Me Into a Flower
5. Hearts Aglow
6. And in the Darkness
7. Twin Flame
8. In Holy Flux
9. The Worst Is Done
10. A Given Thing

Weyes Blood 2022 and 2023 Tour Dates

Thu. Dec. 08 – Los Angeles, CA – The Theatre at Ace Hotel [SOLD OUT]
Fri. Dec. 09 – Los Angeles, CA – The Theatre at Ace Hotel

In Holy Flux Tour 2023
Sat.Jan. 28 – Berlin, DE – Festsaal Kreuzberg
Mon. Jan. 30 – Stockholm, SE – Berns
Tue. Jan. 31- Oslo, NO – Rockefeller
Wed. Feb. 01 – Copenhagen, DK – VEGA
Fri. Feb. 03 – Cologne, DE – Kulturkirche
Sat. Feb. 04 – Paris, FR – Le Trianon
Sun. Feb. 05 – Brussels, BE – Botanique – Orangerie
Mon. Feb. 06 – Amsterdam, NL – Paradiso
Wed. Feb.08 – London, UK – Roundhouse
Thu. Feb. 09 – Bristol, UK – SWX
Fri. Feb. 10 – Glasgow, UK – QMU
Sun. Feb. 12- Dublin, IE – Vicar Street
Mon. Feb. 13 – Manchester, UK – O2 Ritz
Tue. Feb. 14 – Brighton, UK – CHALK
Wed. Feb. 22 – Nashville, TN – Brooklyn Bowl
Thu. Feb. 23 – Atlanta, GA – Variety Playhouse
Fri. Feb. 24 – Asheville, NC – The Orange Peel
Sat. Feb. 25 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle
Mon. Feb. 27 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club
Tue. Feb. 28 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer
Fri. Mar. 03 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Steel
Sun. Mar. 05 – Boston, MA – Royale
Tue. Mar. 07 – Montreal, QC – Corona Theatre
Wed. Mar. 08 – Toronto, ON – The Danforth Music Hall
Fri. Mar. 10 – Detroit, MI – El Club
Sat. Mar. 11 – Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre
Mon. Mar. 13 – Milwaukee, WI – The Pabst Theater
Tue. Mar. 14 – Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue
Wed. Mar. 15 – Des Moines, IA – Wooly’s
Fri. Mar. 17 – Englewood, CO – Gothic Theatre
Sat. Mar. 18 – Salt Lake City, UT – The Depot
Sun. Mar. 19 – Boise, ID – Knitting Factory Concert House
Tue. Mar. 21 – Vancouver, BC – Commodore Ballroom
Wed. Mar. 22 – Seattle, WA – The Showbox
Thu. Mar. 23 – Portland, OR – McMenamins Crystal Ballroom
Sat. Mar. 25 – San Francisco, CA – The Regency Ballroom
Tue. Mar. 28 – Phoenix, AZ – The Van Buren
Wed. Mar. 29 – Santa Fe, NM – Meow Wolf
Fri. Mar. 31 – Austin, TX – Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheater
Sat. Apr. 01 – Dallas, TX – Studio at The Factory
Sun. Apr. 02 – Tulsa, OK – Cain’s Ballroom