Home Trends Six former employees selected for Wall of Fame – News

Six former employees selected for Wall of Fame – News


Wall of Fame ceremony

Americans spend decades of their lives at work. Most hope to derive meaning from their careers by making changes that improve processes or increase business.

At Missouri State University, former employees with lasting legacies are selected for the Wall of Fame annually.

The Board of Governors met today and approved the 2022 class:

  • Yohannan “John” Abraham.
  • Dana Carroll.
  • Lynn Cline.
  • Jerry Hoover.
  • Stephanie Marinec.
  • David Oatman.

Honoring long-time employees

This class of inductees represents 193 years of service to the university.

The Wall of Fame already includes 129 individuals. With the 2022 class, the Wall of Fame now recognizes 135.

About the 2022 class

Dr. Yohannan “John” Abraham

Abraham (Sept. 8, 1969–Dec. 31, 2006) was known for his globalization efforts and gracious nature. Through his determination and vision, he established a successful international business program and many education abroad opportunities. He served as a long-time advisor to the Indian Student Association.

Dr. Dana Carroll

Carroll (Sept. 31, 1980–March 30, 2009) created a supportive environment and eased the transition period for students studying internationally. Known to go the extra mile in improving accessibility, she is credited with increasing the percentage of student participation in education abroad.

Lynn Cline

Cline (Aug. 18, 1975–Feb. 28, 2017) was a quiet, positive influence who oversaw and welcomed change in the library and on campus. He developed an early electronic resource, which paved the way for future databases. He curated the library’s resources thoughtfully to meet the research needs of students and faculty.

Jerry Hoover

Hoover (July 1, 1985–June 30, 2016) was a model educator. He grew the university band program exponentially – in size and international reputation – which led to numerous accolades. Beyond teaching and designing memorable performances, students and colleagues valued his mentorship and consistency.

Stephanie Marinec

Marinec (July 5, 1995–Aug. 31, 2013) advised thousands of future educators across the state with compassion and patience. She led with integrity, advocated for students and was a trusted confidante to many. Colleagues across campus valued her wisdom, perspective and dedication to students.

Dr. David Oatman

Oatman (Aug. 20. 1979–July 31, 2016) challenged his students, both in the classroom and as a coach. With his extensive knowledge of kinesiology, he guided students and cared deeply about their successes. He led with humility and humor, increasing student engagement and encouraging future educators.

The induction ceremony

The 2022 honorees will have their plaques added to the wall outside of the PSU Ballroom at a formal ceremony during Homecoming.

The ceremony will be at 4 p.m. Oct. 28, and it is free and open to the public.

Selection criteria

In addition to nominations from current or past members of the campus community, the former faculty or staff member must have:

  • Significantly contributed to the success and positive collegiate experience of students.
  • Worked full time at Missouri State for at least 10 years.
  • Stopped working full time at MSU for the past five years.

Previous articleIt’s Been 9 Years, And RM Still Can’t Get A Moment’s Peace With BTS
Next articleWin Sex Pistols: The Original Recordings Vinyls – Music News