Home Local Santigold Premieres Comeback Album Spirituals: Stream

Santigold Premieres Comeback Album Spirituals: Stream


Santigold has reveal her new album, Spirituals, out September 9th. Take a listen below.

For Spirituals, Santigold recruited a list of contributors including Rostam, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Nick Zinner, Boys Noize, JakeOne, Doc McKinney, Psymun, Ricky Blaze, Lido, Ray Brady, and Ryan Olson. In a statement, the artist revealed how she got over writer’s block.

“Recording this album was a way back to myself after being stuck in survival mode,” Santigold explained. “It wasn’t until I made the space to create that I realized I wasn’t only creating music but a lifeline. California was on fire, we were hiding from a plague, the social justice protests were unfolding. I’d never written lyrics faster in my life. After having total writer’s block, they started pouring out. I decided to create the future, to look towards where we are going, to create beauty and pull towards that beauty. I need that for myself, but it’s also there for whoever else needs it.”

Spirituals marks Santigold’s first new album since her 2018 surprise mixtape I Don’t Want: The Gold Fire Sessions and is the proper follow-up to 2016’s 99¢.

Beginning in October, Santigold will support the album by embarking on “The Holified Tour.” The 19-date North American trek runs into the middle of November, and tickets are available here.

Spirituals Artwork:

santigold spirituals artwork

Spirituals Tracklist:
01. My Horror
02. Nothing
03. High Priestess
04. Ushers of the New World
05. Witness
06. Shake
07. The Lasty
08. No Paradise
09. Ain’t Ready
10. Fall First

Previous articleAlisa Xayalith Shares the Origins of “I’ll Be There”: Exclusive
Next articleSoyul And Moon Hee Jun Welcome Their Second Child